Denver Broncos Quarterback Peyton Manning Presented with 2015 Bart Starr Award at 28th Annual NFL-Sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast

Phoenix, AZ (Jan. 30, 2015) – Former Indianapolis Colts head coach Tony Dungy reunited with Super Bowl XLI MVP Peyton Manning this morning to present Manning with one of the sport’s most meaningful honors, the Bart Starr Award.

The Denver Broncos quarterback was chosen by his National Football League (NFL) peers as this year’s winner based on his character and contributions on and off the field. Tony Dungy and Bart Starr Jr., awarded Manning with the Bart Starr Award trophy in front of an audience of 1,900 at what is widely considered one of the game’s premier events, the Super Bowl Breakfast (presented by Athletes in Action and the Super Service Challenge).

“I’ve always had the greatest admiration for Bart Starr because of his leadership, integrity and success as an NFL quarterback,” said Manning. “He’s a Hall of Fame player and, most importantly, a Hall of Fame person who has demonstrated a lifelong commitment to giving back. To be recognized with this prestigious honor named after Bart and voted on by my peers is very humbling.”

Manning gives his time, leadership and presence to a broad range of worthy causes. His PeyBack Foundation has provided more than $10 million of impact to at risk youth in Colorado, Indiana, Louisiana and Tennessee through its grants and programs since its inception in 1999.

“We are all familiar with Peyton as a winner on the field,” said Athletes in Action President Mark Householder, “But there is much more to him.  He is a winner through his significant community contribution and a man of character and integrity in his personal life.

“Peyton and this year's finalists Benjamin Watson (New Orleans Saints) and Justin Tuck (Oakland Raiders) are outstanding examples of athletes who are committed to using their football platform to serve others. We are proud to associate Peyton's name with Bart Starr and the previous award winners."

Through this honor, Manning joined the list of Bart Starr Award winners that includes Aaron Rodgers, Drew Brees, Kurt Warner, Aeneas Williams, Jason Witten, London Fletcher, LaDainian Tomlinson, Reggie White and Mike Singletary.

# # #

The NFL-sanctioned Athletes in Action Super Bowl Breakfast has taken place in the Super Bowl host city every year since 1988, drawing sellout crowds to hear from some of sport’s biggest names.  The Bart Starr Award, presented at the breakfast, honors Starr’s lifelong commitment to serving as a positive role model to his family, teammates and community. The winner of the Bart Starr Award is determined by NFL-player balloting at the end of the regular season, making it one of only two individual honors selected by the players themselves.