Denver Broncos Quarterback Peyton Manning Wins 2015 Bart Starr Award

Peyton Manning (MVP of Super Bowl XLI) to receive Bart Starr Award
at the 28th Annual NFL-Sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast
Friday January 30, 2015 | 8:00am | JW Marriott Desert Ridge | Phoenix, AZ

Phoenix, AZ (Jan. 12, 2015) – Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has been chosen by his National Football League (NFL) peers to receive one of the sport’s most meaningful honors, The Bart Starr Award, given annually to a player who exemplifies character and leadership on and off the field.

Manning will receive the Bart Starr Award in person at what is widely considered one of Super Bowl weekend’s premier events, the Athletes in Action Super Bowl Breakfast. Through this honor, Manning will join the list of Bart Starr Award winners that includes Aaron Rodgers, Drew Brees, Kurt Warner, Aeneas Williams, Jason Witten, London Fletcher, LaDainian Tomlinson, Reggie White and Mike Singletary.

Since the day he was selected as the No. 1 pick in the 1998 NFL Draft, Manning has demonstrated admirable resolve to invest in every community he and his wife, Ashley, have lived in. The PeyBack Foundation has provided more than $10 million of impact to at risk youth in Colorado, Indiana, Louisiana and Tennessee through its grants and programs since its inception in 1999. In addition to funding life-enhancing initiatives, Peyton gives his time, leadership and presence to a broad range of worthy causes including the St. Vincent’s Children’s Hospital (Indianapolis), which in 2007 was renamed the “Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital at St. Vincent.” Manning serves as a member of the American Red Cross National Celebrity Cabinet and the Pat Summitt Foundation. He also started the Peyton Manning Scholarship program at Tennessee that has honored 20 incoming college students in the last 16 years on the basis of academic achievement, leadership and community service.

While Manning has won the 2015 Bart Starr Award, Benjamin Watson (New Orleans Saints) and Justin Tuck (Oakland Raiders) were selected by their NFL peers as finalists for the honor, in recognition of their outstanding character and community contributions.

An anticipated 1,900 business executives will attend the event, presented by Athletes in Action and the Super Service Challenge, to watch Manning receive the Bart Starr Award and hear narratives of faith and football from NFL players past and present. Program guests will include Bart Starr, Jr. (son of Super Bowls I and II MVP Bart Starr), Tony Dungy (2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalist), Benjamin Watson and Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints), Steve Largent (Pro Football Hall of Fame), Troy Vincent (NFL 1992-2006, Executive VP of NFL Football Operations), John Lynch (2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalist) and Brent Jones (San Francisco 49ers 1987-1997).

To purchase corporate and priority tables, or individual tickets, visit or call 800-416-9472.

# # #

The NFL-sanctioned Athletes in Action Super Bowl Breakfast has taken place in the Super Bowl host city every year since 1988, drawing sellout crowds to hear from some of sport’s biggest names.  The Bart Starr Award, presented at the breakfast, honors Starr’s lifelong commitment to serving as a positive role model to his family, teammates and community. The winner of the Bart Starr Award is determined by NFL-player balloting at the end of the regular season, making it one of only two individual honors selected by the players themselves.