Green Bay Packers Quarterback Aaron Rodgers Wins Bart Starr Award for Character and Leadership

Legendary Quarterback Bart Starr (MVP of Super Bowls I and II) to present award to Aaron Rodgers (MVP of Super Bowl XLV) at the 27th Annual NFL-Sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast
January 31, 2014 | 8:00am | Marriot Marquis (1535 Broadway) | New York City

NEW YORK (Jan. 16, 2014) – Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was selected by his National Football League peers to receive one of the sport’s most meaningful honors - the Bart Starr Award – given annually to a player who represents exemplary character and leadership on and off the field.

Following in the footsteps of previous award winners – who include Jason Witten, London Fletcher, Drew Brees, Kurt Warner, LaDainian Tomlinson, Reggie White and Mike Singletary – Rodgers will receive the award in person from Bart Starr at one of the NFL’s premier events, the Athletes in Action Super Bowl Breakfast.

In his nine years in the NFL, Rodgers has advocated for numerous charitable efforts including Raise Hope for Congo and the Midwest Athletes Against Childhood Cancer (MACC) fund. He created a website, to build awareness for organizations and people who are making a difference in their communities. The quarterback has also been involved with Young Life and Make-A-Wish®.

Starr, who played 15 seasons for the Packers (1956-1972) and led the team to five NFL titles and two Super Bowl Championships, said, “Aaron and this year’s award finalists Ryan Clark (Pittsburgh Steelers) and Jared Allen (Minnesota Vikings) are outstanding examples of athletes who are committed to using their football platform to serve others. It’s a great privilege to recognize Aaron Rodgers, a fellow Packer, for his team leadership and significant community contributions. Aaron is a great representative of the word ‘gentleman’ and I am proud to have his name associated with this special recognition and award.”

An anticipated 1500 business executives will attend the event (presented by Super Service Challenge) and hear narratives of faith and football from NFL players past and present including George Martin, Justin Tuck, David Tyree (New York Giants) and Brent Jones (San Francisco 49ers). The program will also feature critically acclaimed actor Jim Caviezel (TV: CBS’ Person of Interest FILM: The Count of Monte Cristo; The Passion of the Christ; soon-to-be-released When the Game Stands Tall), and New York Times Best-selling Author Eric Metaxas.

To purchase corporate and priority tables, or individual tickets, please call (800) 416-9472 or visit

# # #

The Super Bowl Breakfast is an NFL-sanctioned event hosted by Athletes in Action. The signature event of Super Bowl week has taken place in the game’s host city every year since 1988, drawing sellout crowds to hear from some of the game’s biggest names. The Bart Starr Award, given at the breakfast, honors Starr’s lifelong commitment to serving as a positive role model to his family, teammates and community.
The winner of the Bart Starr Award is determined by NFL-player balloting at the end of the regular season, making it one of only two individual honors selected by the players themselves.