2020 Bart Starr Award to be presented on February 1 at the NFL-sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast

Hollywood, Florida, January 3, 2020 – Results are in from the NFL players who vote to identify the league player who best exemplifies outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community. Eli Manning of the New York Giants is the winner of the 2020 Athletes in Action/Bart Starr Award.

The award, bearing the name of NFL Hall of Famer Bart Starr, honors Starr’s lifelong commitment to serving as a positive role model to his family, teammates and community. Past winners of the award include Calais Campbell, Benjamin Watson, Peyton Manning, Anthony Muñoz, Derrick Brooks and Drew Brees.

“Bart Starr left the NFL with an incredible legacy of kindness, humility, charity and compassion. Though many fans may not recognize his name today, most players know exactly who he is because of his impressive record on and off the field,” said Terry Bortz, Super Bowl Breakfast Director.

The original group of nominees for the 2020 Bart Starr Award included 10 men who all boast impressive resumes both on and off the field. Manning was selected by his peers in the NFL, making this the only award – other than the Pro Bowl – voted on by all the players.

“Each year we have watched the players identify those who are living up to the expectations set by this award’s namesake. Manning is a top-notch player who is truly making a difference in the world, and we are thrilled to recognize his effort and good work,” said Bortz.

Manning is in his 16th year in the NFL as the quarterback for the New York Giants. He led the Giants to victory in Super Bowls XLII and XLVI, defeating the New England Patriots in both games. Manning was named Most Valuable Player in both Super Bowls.

He considers his work off the field to be his most important contribution. He and his family built “The Eli Manning Children’s Clinics” at the Blair E. Batson Hospital for Children in Jackson, Mississippi. In addition, he supports numerous charities including Tackle Kids Cancer Initiative, Hackensack University Medical Center, Children’s of Mississippi Capital Campaign, March of Dimes, New York March for Babies, Guiding Eyes for the Blind, American Red Cross, Scholastic’s Classroom Care Program and the PeyBack Foundation.

Eli’s brother Peyton won the Bart Starr Award in 2015, making this the first set of brothers to win the award since its inception in 1989. He also received the prestigious Walter Payton Man of the Year Award in 2016.

Manning will be awarded the Bart Starr Award on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2020, the day before Super Bowl LIV, when fans will join sports legends in South Florida for the 33rd annual Super Bowl Breakfast. The breakfast will feature members of Bart Starr’s family – his wife Cherry and son Bart Jr. along with Tony Dungy, Peyton Manning, Jerry Kramer, Anthony Muñoz, Derrick Brooks and James Brown. The Breakfast will be emceed by Akbar Gbajabiamila, co-host of American Ninja Warrior.

To find more information about the Bart Starr Award, the Super Bowl Breakfast and to purchase tickets, visit SuperBowlBreakfast.com.

Contact: Darrin Gray 813-777-3140


Crop Image