The Athletes in Action/Bart Starr Award was created to honor the NFL player who best exemplifies outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field, and in the community. The Award is named after Bart Starr who, in addition to being in the NFL Hall of Fame, was selected as MVP in Super Bowls I and II. Mr. Starr is an individual of impeccable character who has served his family and community faithfully through the years and is a role model for athletes and business people alike.

Featured Winners

A photo of Kirk Cousins

Kirk Cousins

2023 Winner

A photo of Russell Wilson

Russell Wilson

2022 Winner

A photo of Demario Davis

Demario Davis

2021 Winner

About the Bart Starr Award

The 2024 Bart Starr Award

Nominees are gathered from the Public Relations Directors of each NFL team, past winners of the Bart Starr Award, and the Athletes in Action Pro Staff working with NFL teams. The top 10 nominees based on the criteria for the award are voted on by a group of past Bart Starr Award winners and AIA leadership. 

In 1988, Athletes in Action (AIA) held its inaugural Super Bowl Breakfast at Super Bowl XXII in San Diego, CA. In 1989, the first Bart Starr Award was presented at the Super Bowl Breakfast. Bart Starr agreed to partner with Athletes in Action to present this award in his name. He and his wife attended the Breakfast from 1989 to 2014 to personally present the award to the winner. Since 2015, when Bart had a stroke and passed away a few years later, Tony Dungy and Bart Starr, Jr. have presented the award in Bart’s honor.




Get Involved

Become a Sponsor


Reserve Your Spot